Derby Weekend

You may have been wondering where I have been. Worry no more, I have not abandoned you. 🙂 Life has been good but jam-packed, and I’ve had horses on the brain. My dear friend Tori is moving back to South Florida next week, so we spent her birthday weekend visiting her sister in Louisville for the Kentucky Derby. I have been talking about this weekend for months. Tori kept asking me if I was still going–really? There are horses! Do you even need to ask? Despite the rain, we put on our girliest dresses and fascinators and made our way to Churchill Downs. We got soaked, but we had a great time.

I wanted to be one of those girls with the big, Southern hats. For two weeks, I searched every store in Murfreesboro that I could think of that had even a remote chance of carrying such a hat. I could not find a single hat that wasn’t a beach hat or gaudy. So we did what we always do…made our own (fascinators, that is…I wish I could make my own hat)! Here is mine made with a headband wrapped in ribbon, some netting, hot glue, and feathers.

I donned the same dress I wore for Easter. As you can probably imagine, we did not get very many photos due to the pouring rain, but we got one! And this was before we realized we could not take our umbrellas in and spent the rest of the day in “nice” yellow ponchos.

I picked Revolutionary to win, but third place works too! Orb was a nice pick and a pretty horse.

We have our biggest event of the year at work this Thursday and Friday, so I will be a busy bee. But I have officially graduated from my Meeting and Event Planning Certificate Program, so next week, there will finally be some calm to get back to crafting and blogging for my lovely readers! I have a long to do list including building tables from pallets that we took apart, sewing a business card wallet, and making a roman shade for our kitchen. Stay tuned!

XO,
Mad

P.S. We booked our trip to Raleigh, and we are staying one of the nights at this really cool warehouse loft in Durham. I can’t wait! Have you used airbnb before? If not, you should start by checking out their popular wish lists.

Leave a comment